What are the dates for each Sun Sign?

Here are the approximate dates for Zodiac Sun Signs:

Aries: approximately March 20 – April 22
Taurus: approximately April 21 – May 22
Gemini: approximately May 21 – June 22
Cancer: approximately June 21 – July 22
Leo: approximately July 21 – August 22
Virgo: approximately August 21 – September 22
Libra: approximately September 21 – October 22
Scorpio: approximately October 21 – November 22
Sagittarius: approximately November 21 – December 22
Capricorn: approximately December 21 – January 22
Aquarius: approximately January 20 – February 19
Pisces: approximately February 18 – March 21

The Sun moves into a new zodiac sign approximately every month, anywhere between 19th and the 23rd of our month. That group of days is called a cusp, meaning the span of days in which the Sun may change sign (there is also another meaning for “cusp” in astrology). However, being born during those days does NOT automatically mean that you have 2 Sun signs (a common misconception). There is an exact time at which the center of the Sun moves into a new sign. Birth charts are calculated using an astronomical ephemeris which charts the exact time of a Sun sign change for every year. If you were born on a cusp of any month, you must check an ephemeris to see exactly where the Sun was at the time of your birth.

←   Back to Astrology FAQ