Astrology FAQ

Here are frequently asked questions and answers about astrology.

What are the Major Aspects?

The aspects in astrology that are commonly known as the major aspects are the conjunction (0°), the sextile (60°), the square (90°), the trine (120°), and the opposition (180°).

The rest of the aspects are commonly known as the minor aspects.

Which are the angular houses?

The angular Houses in astrology are Houses 1, 4, 7, and 10. Planets placed in these houses have “accidental dignity.” They are strong, meaning that their effects have more chances of being felt. Whether the strong effects are positive or negative depends on other chart factors, such as essential dignity and aspects to other planets.

What are the Oriental Quadrants?

The Oriental Quadrants in a birth chart consist of Houses 4, 5, 6, 10, 11, and 12.

If you divide the birth chart into 4, the Oriental Quadrants would be the top-left and the bottom-right quadrants of the birth chart.

What is Peregrine?

A planet is peregrine if it’s in a sign with no essential dignity: where it is neither dignified nor debilitated. A planet is not considered peregrine if it is in mutual reception with another planet.

Which are the Mutable Signs?

The mutable signs of the zodiac are Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, and Pisces.

There is one mutable sign of each element. Gemini is mutable air. Virgo is mutable earth. Sagittarius is mutable fire. Pisces is mutable water.

Which are the Cardinal Signs?

The cardinal signs of the zodiac are Aries, Cancer, Libra, and Capricorn.

There is one cardinal sign of each element. Aries is cardinal fire. Cancer is cardinal water. Libra is cardinal air. Capricorn is cardinal earth.

Which are the Fixed Signs?

The fixed signs of the zodiac are Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius, constituting the Fixed Quadruplicity.

There is one fixed sign of each element. Taurus is fixed earth. Leo is fixed fire. Scorpio is fixed water. Aquarius is fixed air.

What is the anaretic degree?

The anaretic degree is the 29th degree of any zodiac sign. This is considered an unfavorable position for a planet.

Which are the Water Signs of the zodiac?

The water signs of the zodiac are Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces. They are considered emotional.

There is one water sign for each quality. Cancer is cardinal water. Scorpio is fixed water. Pisces is mutable water.

Which are the Earth Signs of the zodiac?

The earth signs of the zodiac are Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn. They are considered the practical ones.

There is one earth sign for each quality. Capricorn is cardinal earth. Taurus is fixed earth. Virgo is mutable earth.

Which are the Fire Signs of the zodiac?

The fire signs of the zodiac are Aries, Leo, Sagittarius. They are considered the inspirational signs in the sense that they inspire action.

There is one fire sign for each quality. Aries is cardinal fire. Leo is fixed fire. Sagittarius is mutable fire.

Which are the Air Signs in the zodiac?

The air signs of the zodiac are Gemini, Libra, Aquarius. They are considered the mental or intellectual signs.

There is one air sign for each quality. Libra is cardinal air. Aquarius is fixed air. Gemini is mutable air.

What is a Biquintile aspect?

A biquintile aspect in astrology is an aspect of 144 degrees, or two-fifths of the circle.

What is a Quintile aspect?

A quintile aspect in astrology is an aspect of 72 degrees, or one-fifth of the circle. It was proposed by Kepler.

What are the dates for each Sun Sign?

Here are the approximate dates for Zodiac Sun Signs:

Aries: approximately March 20 – April 22
Taurus: approximately April 21 – May 22
Gemini: approximately May 21 – June 22
Cancer: approximately June 21 – July 22
Leo: approximately July 21 – August 22
Virgo: approximately August 21 – September 22
Libra: approximately September 21 – October 22
Scorpio: approximately October 21 – November 22
Sagittarius: approximately November 21 – December 22
Capricorn: approximately December 21 – January 22
Aquarius: approximately January 20 – February 19
Pisces: approximately February 18 – March 21

The Sun moves into a new zodiac sign approximately every month, anywhere between 19th and the 23rd of our month. That group of days is called a cusp, meaning the span of days in which the Sun may change sign (there is also another meaning for “cusp” in astrology). However, being born during those days does NOT automatically mean that you have 2 Sun signs (a common misconception). There is an exact time at which the center of the Sun moves into a new sign. Birth charts are calculated using an astronomical ephemeris which charts the exact time of a Sun sign change for every year. If you were born on a cusp of any month, you must check an ephemeris to see exactly where the Sun was at the time of your birth.